Lynn Rascal’s View on Love

“I’ve become skeptical of the unwritten rule that just because a boy and a girl appear in the same feature, a romance must ensue. Rather, I want to portray a slightly different relationship, one where the two mutually inspire each other to live – if I’m able to, then perhaps I’ll be closer to portraying a true expression of love.”  – Hayao Miyazaki, Co-Founder of Studio Ghibli

This quote changed how I perceived love. Before, I had the stereotypical Disney view of love; true love, one and only, first love lasts forever fairytale-like stuff. I hadn’t seen many other types of love, seeing how my parents had been apart since before I can even remember, so it was my only real ‘reference’. After a while, I realized that that type of love only really exists in fiction and that love was so much more than what I was shown.

Even in regards to family, developing love and bonds takes time and work. Lots of it. The basis of a true and honest love, romantic or not, is trusting and knowing the other person and them being able to know and trust you in return. Supporting each other through the hard times, even when it seems too much to bear, and inspiring each other to keep moving forward. You need to genuinely care and understand each other, faults and all. It may not be easy and it surely won’t be quick, but if you’re dedicated and patient with each other, your feelings will bloom into something honest, true, and beautiful.

Love doesn’t have to be romantic either. I love my friends and family more than I could ever say. We care for each other, help each other through the bad times in our lives, and they’ve definitely been my driving force for facing my issues head on. To me, that is what real love is.

  • Lynn Rascal
Leave a Reply

