Brian’s Take on Depression

Depression is one thing I think no one should go through alone. It’s terrifying and deadly, depression as we all know will kill a lot of people. We often feel alone and upset; some of us feel physical pain, emotional pain, and don’t want to wake up in the morning or do anything because it just upsets us. To be honest I battle with depression and it sucks. There are days where I want to not wake up and just sleep, as well as not leave my house but I have to force myself to get up and leave. I realized when you stay in an area for a long time and isolate yourself you will go  insane at times, I personally did and it was the worst feeling ever.

I love being alone most of my times don’t get me wrong; but when I do it all the time it haunts me because I’m isolated in my own thoughts and those thoughts are scary. The things that I was going through in my life and the current situation I’m facing right now has its ups and downs. Sadly I have grown to accept that depression is something that I can’t get over and don’t know if I ever will. All I can do from my experience is do something everyday to keep myself occupied and stay busy whether that’s through working out, playing soccer, or even work in general.

One thing for sure is that you are not as alone as you think you are, there is a lot of people out the in the world that are dealing with depression. We can fight it by talking to a councilor, a close friend, or even a family member. When you talk out what you feel it’s better than holding it in because what happens next is you’re going to explode and regret the things you did. We all have a story and you’re lucky because your struggle and past will change a life. You can over come depression by not letting it get to you and live the life you want to live.

– Brian O’Connor

Leave a Reply

