Madison Opinion on Depression

hey first things first I’ll be giving you a brief definition that I got off of Dictionary.com. Then alittle about my opinion, with alittle back story about me :). Then it’s alittle bit about breaking some common stereotypes.

Depression: a depression so severe as to be considered abnormal,either because of no obvious environmental causes, or because thereaction to unfortunate life circumstances is more intense or prolongedthan would generally be expected.

When it comes to depression every one goes through it diffrently and there are so many diffrent kinds of depression. I’ve struggeled with depression for majority of my life, it hasn’t been easy but I’ve been able to get through it. I know for me It come in episodes where I may have a couple really good days then it’s like a switch had been flipped. I don’t know how exactly to describe it but I feel every empty, I alway feel lonely even if there people around, and there times where I just cry, and when I cry I can’t undersand why. the feeling of depression can very from mild to exstrem that it’s hard to stand back from. I know people tell me all the time that “I’ll grow out of it.” but sadly I know I wont. It has gotten better through the years, I have been through alot of doctors to help train myself how to better control it. But it’s still is apart of me and a strong part of who I am. I’m also really proud to have made it this far in my life because it’s also the part that keep me motivated, when I stop to think about where I’ve come from and where I’ve been I do not want to go back to that place so I push forward.

Next thing I want to talk about are some of the stereotypes.

Depression is only dictated by life circumstances.

  • Not all depression come from life circumstances, some can be but that does not mean everyone with a life chaning event is now going to struggle with depresson. Depression is caused by a cemical imbalence in your brain.

People who experience depression aren’t mentally strong.

  • weather you have depression or not it doesn’t determine weither or not you are strong or weak. Just like how someone with out depression can be mentally strong or weak. It all goes down to the person in a hole not a lable or a stigma.

Everyone with depression takes medication

  • I didn’t take anymeds for mine. That comes down to the person again, some people need medication and some people don’t. whatever you feels right for you is what your going to do. I wanted to try working it out on my own before consulting medication, but hey that’s just me.

I hope you guys liked my blog. Leave a comment down below if you have any questions or comments. I love hearing from you guys.

~You Always Have A Choice~

-Madison Taylor

Leave a Reply

