Marie Talks: Why She’s Not a Feminist

This week’s topic is feminism, which is a great thing, however I am an equalist. I believe regardless of race, sex, culture, intellect, disabilities, orientation, social status, or beliefs etc, that everyone should have equal rights, privileges and opportunities in social and work environments.

I used to refer to myself as a feminist, as I was huge on equal rights for men and women. However in today’s society equal rights for men and women still leaves a lot of inequality for many others. Where equal rights for men and women is a good start, as a society we also need to work on the rights and our treatment towards those who don’t fit into the ‘standard’ two genders. We need equality for people in the transgendered, gender fluid and Intersex communities just to name a few.

I believe that not only do we need a term that includes more then just females, we need to focus on all humans having equal rights. I find equality better fits my beliefs than feminism does. I have nothing against those who identify as feminists or what they stand for. I respect feminists and what they stand for and applaud what they are working to achieve. It is solely a personal preference that I believe equalism is a better cause to fight towards.

Feminism: the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities
: organized activity in support of women’s rights and interests

Equalism: Any of several forms of egalitarianism (advocacy of equality) concerned with establishing sexual, racial, class or other equality.

 

 

Stay Beautiful Lovies,
Marie Olsson xx

Source:
http://i.word.com/idictionary/feminism
https://en.m.wiktionary.org/wiki/equalism

Leave a Reply

