Madison Talks Social Anxiety

Social Anxiety

What is social anxiety? I couldn’t find a definition on dictionary.com, so here’s one from https://socialanxietyinstitute.org/what-is-social-anxiety.

 

Social Anxiety: is the fear of interaction with other people that brings on self-consciousness, feelings of being negatively judged and evaluated, and, as a result, leads to avoidance.

 

I struggle with anxiety, but I have gone through social anxiety personally. I have watched my uncle struggle with social anxiety almost my whole life. For him I think it started when I was around ten, meaning that it at least started 12 years ago or earlier. My 2 uncles have always been some of my idols, and they know if they showed something is wrong it would break my heart. My uncle has been doing alright with it though, because my uncle know what works best for him. I’ll talk a little more about symptoms in a later paragraph and I’ll make sure to but links down below to where I got stuff so if any of you want to learn more you can.

First I wanted to talk about what exactly social anxiety is. Social anxiety is the fear of a social interaction with other people, but it also varies between people to person. Some people fear interactions individual people and have a trouble interacting with even one person, and there are some people can’t handle group situations or big gatherings. This fear stems from being scared of being judged and evaluated negatively by other people, leading to feelings of inadequacy, inferiority, embarrassment, humiliation, and depression. Did you know “Millions of people all over the world suffer from this devastating and traumatic condition every day, either from a specific social anxiety or from a more generalized social anxiety.”

Here are some examples of some situations that someone with social anxiety may go some distress in:

• Being introduced to other people

• Being teased or criticized

• Being the center of attention

• Being watched while doing something

• Meeting people in authority (“important people”)

• Most social encounters, especially with strangers

• Going around the room (or table) in a circle and having to say something

• Interpersonal relationships, whether friendships or romantic

Someone with social anxiety also can’t help feeling the distress when the situation hits and even with telling someone everything is ok there is a big difference in “knowing” and “feeling”

 

Some warning signs that someone maybe struggling with social Anxiety are:

• Avoidance of social situations

• Physical symptoms of anxiety,

o including confusion,

o pounding heart

o sweating

o shaking

o muscle tension

o upset stomach

o diarrhea

 

So that’s it for my blog today hoped you all enjoyed and at the bottom are the two sites I promised you guys. Those are the ones I got my info from, so feel free to check them out.

 

https://socialanxietyinstitute.org/what-is-social-anxiety

http://www.webmd.com/anxiety-panic/guide/mental-health-social-anxiety-disorder#1

 

 

“People always ask me, you have so much confidence. Where did that come from?’ it came from me. One day I decided that I was beautiful, and so I carried out my life if I was a beautiful girl… It doesn’t have anything to do with how the world perceive you. That matters is what you see. Your body id you temple, it’s your home, and you must decorate it.”

~Gabourey Sidibe

 

~Madison Taylor

Leave a Reply

